My Favorite Go-to Dinner: Raw Vegan Fettuccine Alfredo

Salad, bananas and apples are fine for a quick meal or snack but I need a filling comfort food once in a while. I found this great recipe from The Rawtarian.

I was a little concerned at first about eating raw zucchini. It just doesn’t sound like it would be good. I’m not a big fan of cooked zucchini and I had that taste in my mind. Also, I don’t have a spiralizer so I used a regular shredder – the old fashioned kind – a hand me down from my grandmother and ran the zucchini along the shredder the long way. (Watch your knuckles) You could also use a peeler or julienne tool if you like. In any case, my thoughts about zucchini were wrong. Uncooked, it has almost no flavor at all. Raw shredded zucchini also has a little of the pasta texture in your mouth so it holds up well to sauces. Just shred or julienne till you get to the seeds, then stop. One note of caution, if you like to prepare things ahead of time, keep the zucchini and sauce separate until you are ready to eat. Otherwise it gets soggy.

The Alfredo sauce was easy too. You will definitely have more success if you use a high speed blender or vitamix. A regular blender is great for margaritas but this sauce won’t come out as creamy unless you blend for 3 to 5 minutes or more on high speed.

Here is the Recipe:

Fettuccine:

2 medium zucchini

Peel all the green skin off the zucchini, then spiralize, shred or julienne until you reach the seeds.

Sauce Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups cashews
1 tablespoon lemon juice
2 cloves garlic
1 1/2 cups water
1/2 teaspoon thyme
1 teaspoon sea salt

Place all the ingredients in your blender and blend, blend, blend! Keep going until it’s super smooth and creamy. I made the sauce and started the vitamix blending and let it run while I was shredding the zucchini. Also, if you use a vitamix or blender, don’t reduce the ingredients or you might not have enough to cover the blades and it won’t mix well.

The Rawtarian suggests a little pepper on top. I liked it either way.

Leave a Reply

